What Is Your Love Language?

What Is Your Love Language - Cheryl Woolstone Counselling Blog

Why is she not moved by your efforts?

You took out the garbage and put down your BlackBerry but what she really wanted was a hug…that would have made the difference.

Your emotional love language and the language of your partner may be as different as French and Mandarin.

Couples benefit from understanding that when it comes to the expression of love we all recognize love in particular forms. In IMAGO Relationship Therapy we learn that each person has his or her own unique way of viewing the world. One can’t claim to know what is true for another person.

You must be willing to learn your partner’s love language to effectively communicate your devotion and commitment. To create an intimate relationship we need to know each other’s desires and we need to know how to deliver in a way that hits the mark.

The Platinum Rule: Treat Others as They Would Like to be Treated.

Gary Chapman, author of  The Five Love Languages, breaks down Love Languages into 5 categories:

  • Words Of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

When one of these languages does not come naturally, then it is a greater expression of love. A growth stretch is required for mature love to blossom.

Love Is A Choice

You can bring a relationship back from the brink when you make the choice to love your partner in the way that truly touches their heart.

We are all fairly self-absorbed and will give gifts that we would like to receive.

As Harville Hendrix, creator of IMAGO Relationship Therapy likes to say, “There are two people in this relationship and they are not both you.”

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Monday, January 17th, 2011 at 8:00 AM and is filed under IMAGO and Relationships. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Cheryl Woolstone Counselling - Vancouver Kitsilano - Newsletter Signup